Back Cover Help/Suggestions, Please!

LOGcoverWIP

As the rather self-explanatory title of this post would lead you to believe, I need some help working on the back cover copy of my novel, The Life of Gaia!  I know it’s kind of hard to do that when you haven’t necessarily read the book, but that’s okay!  I still want your opinions!  You know why?  Because theoretically the people who are perusing the BCC ALSO haven’t read my book!  So, you know, that makes your advice rather valuable, coming from that position yourselves.

I promise that I won’t be offended either way, and also that I will not immediately go cry in my shower with a bottle of wine no matter WHAT you tell me, although “This sucks” is probably of less use to me than, say, actual suggestions for fixing it.  But I won’t turn anything away!!  It’s all legitimate feedback (probably,) so you know, lay it on me!

This is what I currently have on the back cover. (My cover designer is going to LOVE ME for coming up with changes like, months after we finished the cover…)

Sixteen-year-old Gaia has never been far from Aeslen Monastery, but she doesn’t need geography lessons to know there’s a lot more of Lysaran than the old church can offer. Yet as a penniless orphan, Gaia knows her life is destined to be spent as a priest, her dreams just that. Dreams.

Until she sees a disturbing omen in the woods. Until a knight in black armor hunts her down, and ends that life forever. Suddenly Gaia is faced by the man she’s dreamed of her entire life, and he’s offering her a deal: die now, or save Lysaran first.

Her decision will plunge her into a whole new world of responsibilities, deadly secrets, horrifying monsters and deceitful Gods. As the balance of Lysaran tips towards the darkness, Gaia seems to be the only one that can stop its descent…at the cost of everything else.

Gaia has a second life, but is it really hers to live?

That’s what’s currently on there, but it’s different from the synopsis I used on the LOG page on my website, which reads:

Gaia is an orphan.  It is the aspect that defines her, and the one that determines her future.  With no prospects and no way out, it seems like all of her dreams–the ones of adventure, of life beyond the monastery, and of a mysterious man in the dark–will only ever be that.  Dreams.  She doesn’t know that her world is about to be thrown out of balance.  That her life is about to end abruptly, violently.  And when that man offers her another chance, she takes it.

But will this second life really be hers to live?

Obviously that one is a little different, and shorter.  Aaaand, last but not least, I have a ANOTHER version that is up on Jukepop’s website:

Gaia is an orphaned acolyte, and on her 16th birthday, she’ll have the biggest choice of her life–whether to strike out on her own, or stay in the safety of the monastery.
At least, that WAS her biggest choice.
Until the day she died, met the man of her dreams, and was offered the chance to live again: with the condition that she has to save the world of Lysaran from destruction.
How hard could that be?

Anyway, let me know what your reactions are.  Does one make you more interested than another?  Any technical stuff you’d like to point out, or little changes that you think would make it read more smoothly?  Would you be at all interested in pursuing this book, or not, and why?    I NEED TO KNOW. @^@

(And of course feel free to mash bits and pieces of both together, if you feel it would sound more pleasing/enticing!!)

Thanks for your help though, seriously.  And this is just one step in getting closer to an actual COVER REVEAL!!

Much obliged,

Celeste

Also, for fun, here’s a conversation I obviously found amusing recently on the word ‘Abscond’:

AbscondFund

3 thoughts on “Back Cover Help/Suggestions, Please!

  1. I like the first one better. It sounds more interesting. I would make a few changes to the first 2 paragraphs, though:
    Sixteen-year-old Gaia has never been far from Aeslen Monastery, but she doesn’t need geography lessons to know the world of Lysaran is wide beyond her imaginings. Yet as a penniless orphan, Gaia is destined to be a priest of the monastery, her dreams just that. Dreams.
    Until she sees a disturbing omen in the woods. Until a knight in black armor hunts her down and changes her life forever [see my question below]. Suddenly, Gaia is faced by the man of her dreams, and he’s offering her a deal: die now, or save Lysaran first.
    I wasn’t sure about the sentence that ends “and ends that life forever.” Does the knight actually kill her? Or does it mean that the path her life was on changes forever? Because surely if her actual life ends, it isn’t forever — because the story continues.
    Anyway, it sounds like an exciting story. Good luck with the cover!

    • Thanks so much!! He does ACTUALLY kill her, ha ha. (Semi-spoiler I guess, although kind of not?) I guess I meant that THAT life ended forever, and everything it had embodied–because her NEXT life (since yes, she obviously keeps living, lol) is completely different. Does that make sense? It could be one of those things you think is all clever and deep since you know what you’re talking about, but other people are like, uhhh? Ha ha.

      • Oh, good, I knew there was something there I wasn’t getting. So, if she does die and begins a second life, you probably don’t want to spell that out, but of course you’d want to say something like “that life was over.” Glad to be of help.

Leave a Reply

