My Experiment in Watching What I Eat

The original title of the post was ‘My Experiment in Watching What I Stick in my Mouth,’ but that seemed a bit misleading, ha ha. xD  I mean, I don’t know what comes to your mind, but… well… Anyway.

It’s actually kind of a dieting story!

Pizza is DEFINITELY my guilty pleasure food… Pizza > Twinkies any day.

 

About a month ago, I started counting my calories on MyFitnessPal.com  It’s a website I started using about a year ago, but gave up on quickly, because I’m lazy and have a terrible time committing to doing anything on a regular basis.  (Which you’ll notice is the reason while, although I have continued working on the blog, I don’t have a regular posting schedule, because I just can’t make that kind of commitment.)

So the idea was, I guess, that since I do such a terrible job at going to the gym and exercising, I would work on my health goals from the other side–food.  Now, food and I have a love-hate relationship.  As in, I love food, and it hates me, ha ha.  But I really was completely unaware of just how much I was taking in until I started forcing myself to keep track.

Let’s just say that, at my height and weight, I get 1500 calories a day.  I was eating easily two-to-three times that amount before I started cutting things out.

Now, that’s not to say that I  only eat lettuce and carrots or protein-shakes!  I’m not doing one of those diets where you can ONLY eat meat, or ONLY eat carbs, because I know limiting myself like that is a recipe for disaster.  I’ll just think about what I CAN’T eat all day, until it drives me nuts.  As it was, the first few days, I thought I was literally going through a drug withdrawal.  My stomach grumbled constantly, and I did nothing but think about food.  Every.  Waking. Minute.

And then a crazy thing happened, and I realized I wasn’t obsessing anymore.  It was no longer a huge issue to keep myself from eating in the wee hours of the night/early morning.  I started drinking a lot (water, sillies!) to give my body the impression that I was still sticking stuff in my mouth.  I have to pee like 20 times a day, but hey, no calories!

But like I said, I DON’T use this as an opportunity to guilt myself, or back out of family gatherings/restaurant outings.  If I know that one of those will happen, I just eat less leading up, or choose something healthier/smaller.  Moderation–it really is the key.

As of now, I’ve lost about 10 pounds, which I’m ECSTATIC about.  I’ve literally never had results like this.  And, because it’s a symbiotic relationship, my weightloss has kept me going strong.  It’s not fast, but hey–I’ll take what I can get.  I’d actually really like to be under 200 by the end of the year, which I don’t think is a ridiculous goal.  Actually, the site says I should be at that point by the end of September. 8D

I don’t usually post about stuff like this, because I know myself well enough to know that the minute I write something about it, it will all fall down around my ears–I’ll lose interest, or just stop, but in this case I’m challenging myself to continue BY writing this post.  You hear that, me?!  Just you dare try to stop!!  I’ll kick your butt!

F**k it, I’ll just eat both.

And that’s a little bit of what I’ve been doing lately!

Celeste

6 thoughts on “My Experiment in Watching What I Eat

  1. Woo! 10lbs is awesome! Keep it up and congratulations!
    I can relate with so much of this post, I swear. Myfitnesspal is awesome for helping me keep track of what I eat. Suddenly I have less of a craving for snacks when I realize that one candy bar takes the calories of one more filling snack/meal. I mean, 200 something calories for two pieces of chocolate (Reeses)? No, nuh uh. No way. Your average piece of baked chicken (with healthy seasonings) is only 150ish calories. Suddenly chocolate like that isn’t so appealing lol. Though if you do look for chocolate, I highly recommend the Skinny Cow treats. They have little chocolates and ice creams that are way low in calories, taste AWESOME, and better overall in regard to ingredients.

    Also on my list of favorite healthy snacks, Yopa! Greek yogurt snacks. You have to look carefully for them because there is Yopa! and Yo!Crunch which are from the same brand but the Yopa! is healthier (and full of exclamation points as well haha). It’s Greek Yogurt with toppings available ranging from oreos, m&ms, dove chocolate, almonds, and more. They are delicious and of course Greek Yogurt is great for burning fat. My other favorite snack is the Lipton Diet Green Teas. I only allow myself one (maybe two max) per day because I don’t like to take in anything ‘diet’ too much but they taste great, are zero calories, and green tea is another one of those things great for helping to burn fat. There’s even a sparkling diet strawberry kiwi green tea if you ever have a carbonation craving.

    If you want to be buddies on myfitnesspal, my username is cmsquared7.

    (WHEW. Did I word vomit long enough on your post? I’m not sure. xD )

    AGAIN, congratulations!!! Be super proud of yourself and if ever you wanna talk health goals I am always available for chatting. It’s become one of my favorite topics. 😀

    • I will definitely add you on there!! =D I’m glad to know someone else who uses MFP, ha ha. 🙂 It’s really become so useful for realizing your priorities, like you said.
      And no, seriously, thank you for giving me all those suggestions! I don’t crave candy too often (thank goodness,) but it’s nice to see some healthier options for when I inevitably WILL be craving something with chocolate. My favorite part of this is that I’m not cutting anything out–just keeping it all in perspective, you know?

      And things are going well now, but I will remember to chat you up if I ever feel in a rut–and you do the same! I’m definitely so proud of what you’ve achieved, especially since you’re doing the exercise part too–you rock! ^^ We both rock. We’re awesome. ;D

  2. This is awesome to hear! I’m on a bit of a health kick myself, mainly due to the fact that my stomach hates me and takes me out for days if I feed it anything remotely unhealthy. Like, right now a fairly high percentage of my meals involve kale. KALE. Ugh. My strategy mainly is to take an appetizer-sized plate and put food on it. If it doesn’t fit on the plate, I can’t eat it. Also, the food has to be “good” — veggies or yogurt or sushi or whatever, nothing fried or greasy or fast food-related.

    I don’t know if any of that was helpful. Probably not. Umm … the most important vitamins for your body that we’re often deficient in are B12, D3, and omega oils. Do with that what you will, lol. And keep doing what you’re doing!!! I’m rooting for you!!!

Leave a Reply

