Details, Why They Matter, and Why They Drive You Crazy

I know I’ve done at least one other post on details, but because they’re such a BIG issue for such tiny, annoying little things, I thought that I would do another one–also, because they’re what I’m fighting with right now.

The devil is in the details.  The success of writing is also in details–how many you choose to provide, how you choose to provide them, and when.  Everything from description details to character quirks to those little things you add to make a setting seem more real…  Details add life to writing, and keep it from being that boring manual on how to assemble your new shoe rack–the one you threw out and instantly regret losing.

But I digress!

I’m thinking about details because I realized I am terrible about being organized, and my details are quickly getting away from me.  This is a new problem, mostly resulting from the time I take between editing, and the fact that I am working on the second draft of my story.  When I wrote the first draft, it was OK.  I did it frequently enough that I could keep track of what was going on, and I didn’t have as many little hints or teasers as I now do.  As I go through editing chapters to post on Jukepop, however, this is an ugly problem rearing its head more and more frequently.

AKA, I have burns mysteriously disappearing, bags of herbs that haven’t made an appearance in several chapters, and a hinted-at surprise that I have NO IDEA WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE ANYMORE.  Apparently when I stuck these things in, I had an idea for them–but as time goes on, I forget that they are entities that need to have ripple effects or consequences or just plain take up space in the meantime.

I’m going to have to start taking notes so that I can clean up all of the NEW problems I am creating through my second draft, which I think, if possible, is MESSIER THAN MY FIRST DRAFT.

Ugh.

So I guess what I’m saying is, if you’re anything like me AT ALL, get ready to haul out a notebook for your edits.  (But you, reader, are a smart cookie, so you probably thought of that already, didn’t you?)  Inevitably you’ll get a BRILLIANT idea to add something to your character, or provide them with a helpful item… So long as you then remember to mention said thing later, so as not to lead your readers to believe that you just forgot about it.  (Which you probably did.)  Or that you’re throwing in deux-ex-machinas, which everybody hates.

And yes, by the way, you can take this post to mean that I have been at least slightly productive lately!  I really do mean to write that post I keep talking about, but in the meantime, just know that today is productive Wednesday, and I am devoting some of that time towards editing and posting a BRAND NEW CHAPTER!  🙂  Glaring errors that I will undoubtedly miss and all, ha ha.

(But that’s why it’s a practice-run, don’t you know!)

Celeste out!

2 thoughts on “Details, Why They Matter, and Why They Drive You Crazy

  1. Details are the WORST. Did I ever tell you about the time I was writing a Harry Potter fanfiction (one of those “James Potter comes back from the dead and helps Harry man up and then they go around being awesome” stories). So Harry got magical eye correction surgery (because why not?) meaning he didn’t need to wear glasses anymore. A couple of chapters later, Harry’s wearing glasses again, and my reviewers are flipping out. See also one of my vlogs about editing Imminent Danger, in which mother and I have a heated debate over where the heck Miguri is in a scene. Long story short, details are the worst.

    • LOL!! Yeah, exactly! If you forget details like that, you get freakin’ mutiny, ha ha. And you better BELIEVE someone is going to point it out to you–in the worst way possible. (Probably following a 1-star review, or something. *shudder*)
      I REMEMBER THAT VLOG! xD I laughed so hard, even though I didn’t even understand the truth behind that at the time… But it’s like, you have to be so magical to be able to remember where everything and everybody is at all times, forever, so that everything makes sense and happens in 3D instead of 2D in your brain.
      phew!

Leave a Reply

