Webcomic Artist Gathering in Columbus!

I know that I’ve done posts before about webcomics that I really enjoy, and it’s no secret that the medium is very important to me, since I’m working on several comics of my own!  So you have to imagine my excitement when one artist that I’ve followed for a long time, Danielle Corsetto of Girls with Slingshots, was going to do a country-wide tour–with a stop in nearby Columbus!

0706141638

Road-trip selfie!!

This was a done deal a long time ago–I knew I was going to go.  Columbus, for reference, is about 2 hours away from where I live.  Several of my friends also go to school there.  I’ve been a couple of times, although I never drove myself, but it was a really easy trip.  So I grabbed a couple of people who were interested in a road trip, and the three of us had a great time chewing the fat as we made our way to the Laughing Ogre comic shop.

(One of said friends really was just along for the ride–he’d never read ANY of the comics whose artists were going to be in attendance.  The other had read the same 2 I did.)

0706141710

Aaaaand comic store selfie!

Danielle wasn’t the only person there, which was the reason I invited the guys along to begin with–Mike is a huge David Willis fan (the guy who draws Dumbing of Ageamong other things).  There were two other artists also there–one of whom I believe was with Danielle in some way…like her intern or something?…the other I was unfamiliar with, but she did have very gorgeous art for show!

Anyway, after getting there, I was pleased to see they had a really good turnout–the line was already long when we arrived, and we waited about an hour and a half to get up to the table.  Once there, however, we had (what I consider) plenty of time to say hi, express our admiration, ask a couple of questions, and take a photo or two.  I bought Girls with Slingshots Volume 1, with a custom doodle of Jamie inside, and an Amber poster from Mr. Willis.  Mike got the same from Danielle, and managed to snag like, one of every book David Willis had on him for a cool 100$–each with a different character drawn inside.  Nice!

0706141828

David Willis, Intern girl, and Danielle, from left to right.

They were quite fun and humorous in person, and Danielle looks EXACTLY like she draws herself, ha ha!  I hope that the rest of her trip goes really well, and that the poor woman remembers to drink enough water, lol.

0706141829 (1)

And a way-too-close up of Danielle!! =D

Afterwards we went to Wendy’s and then did the reverse trip back home.  All in all, an AWESOME experience.  I used to go to anime conventions and gatherings quite frequently in my youth, but it’s been quite a while since I had the time or money to do something like that, so I kind of missed that atmosphere, you know?  People with a shared interest in the same vicinity, most of whom are wearing nerdy T-shirts, the contents of which you are familiar with…  Yeah.  It’s a thing.

So that’s probably the most interesting thing I’VE done in awhile!! =D  Hope you enjoy the pictures, and if you don’t already, definitely give Danielle’s comic a read!  😉

4 thoughts on “Webcomic Artist Gathering in Columbus!

  1. That sounds so fun!!! I’ve never actually gone to one of those and gotten something signed … I think I chicken out because I’m scared I’ll have no idea what to say and just stand there awkwardly.

    • It does happen. xD But if they do this a lot, they’re pretty much used to it, and they’ll get you started. 🙂 Besides, it’s good practice for you to talk to random people, since if you get famous, YOU’LL be the one on the receiving end of the awkward! =D

Leave a Reply

