Celeste’s Yearly Playlist, 2014 Version!

I know it’s a bit late, but I wanted to do a revised version of my playlist for the new year!

If you recall from my last playlist post, I don’t really go about listening to music like other, arguably “normal” people.  I hear songs that I enjoy somewhere, usually on the radio, and then proceed to put them into a giant playlist on my youtube.  There they will get repeated and played over and over again, and usually will stay in the lineup for years, until eventually they wear out on me and I dump them in favor of something new.

So, without further ado, here are the songs currently in the playlist!

  1. Come What May, the Glee cover (Klaine!) of the song from Moulin Rouge.
  2. Oh Death, by Jen Titus, which I heard on Supernatural.
  3. Your Touch by Blake Lewis
  4. Stay the Night, by Zedd and Hayley Williams
  5. My Blood by Ellie Goulding
  6. Waiting for Superman by Daughtry
  7. Starts With One by Shiny Toy Guns
  8. Timber by Pitbull and Kesha
  9. Dark Side by Kelly Clarkson
  10. Pompeii by Bastille
  11. A Thousand Years by Christina Perri
  12. Spectrum by Florence + the Machine
  13. Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus (I considered omitting it, but this is full-disclosure here…  Don’t make fun of me!!)
  14. Young and Beautiful by Lana Del Rey
  15. Extraordinary by Liz Phair
  16. Cough Syrup, the Glee version sung by adorable hunk Darren Criss. ❤
  17. Clarity by Zedd and Foxes
  18. Say Something by Christina Aguilera and A Great Big World
  19. Never Let Me Go by Florence + the Machine
  20. Titanium by David Guetta
  21. Lamb by Gorecki (I think?  Or the title and artist are switched…  It’s another Moulin Rouge song.)
  22. What the Water Gave Me by Florence + the Machine
  23. Sweet Nothing by Calvin Harris and Florence!
  24. Cosmic Love by Florence + the Machine
  25. Counting Stars by One Republic
  26. Rabbit Heart by Florence + the Machine

I have to say the two favorites (at present) are definitely Pompeii and Rabbit Heart.  I just want to listen to them all the time!  Plus, they both remind me of various parts of my stories, and make me want to write–a feeling I always have to harness whenever it comes about.

A lot of returning contenders from last year’s lineup, but actually I did a lot of purging (for me) this year–so the turnover is actually pretty big.  So many lovely new songs to binge-watch until I’m sick of them. ❤  And as you can see, I am a large fan of Florence!  Usually when people ask me what my favorite band/artist is, I just say her, because she’s the only person whose music I listen to on a consistent basis, because she’s the one singing it.  You know?  Normally I don’t operate like that, but that woman is a gorgeous amazon, and she has a great voice. 🙂

What about you guys?  Any songs that you have to listen to when you’re writing, or that jazz you up?  New songs that you consider soundtracks for your work?  Let me know! =D

<3,

Celeste

And that’s my current favorite music video.  Not sure why, just think it’s rather elegant.  Anyway, ciao!

6 thoughts on “Celeste’s Yearly Playlist, 2014 Version!

  1. Flo’s one of my favourites, too. The second chapter in my first novel is named for Rabbit Heart, and a few of the lyrics make an appearance later on 🙂 If you’re after another female voice that’s a bit different, I would recommend my other favourite – The Jezabels. I love their songs Mace Spray and Try Colour most, but they’re a fantastic group in general.

    • Ha ha, that’s awesome! Funny enough, I’d never heard it, until one day I realized it was in the playlist where I work, which is funny since I’m pretty sure it’s the only song we play done after like 1950… Anyway, I was hooked. :)) And thanks for the suggestion, I’ll have to check them out! =D

  2. I’ll definitely be going through your playlist while I work today — I love new songs, and you seem to have excellent taste, so I’m sure at least a couple of these will make it onto my “Cleaning Mix” (that’s my version of your mega playlist, I just switch out songs more because I only have 6 or 7 going at a time and I therefore tire of them very quickly lol). Btw, “Stay the Night” is a GORGEOUS song. Love it.

    What songs are on my playlist? Let’s see …

    – Pour Some Sugar On Me (Def Leppard)
    – Desperate Measures (Marianas Trench)
    – Fresh Feeling (Eels)
    – Liar Liar (Avicii)
    – Kangaroo Court (Capital Cities)
    – Digital Love (Daft Punk)
    – Smooth Criminal (GLEE version)

    • Awww, thank you! =D I’m so pleased to hear that you think so! Although I don’t think anyone has ever complimented my musical taste before–my mother and sister would probably laugh hysterically at the thought. (They’re always making fun of my music choices!)
      Well I haven’t heard of a lot of yours, so I may have to check them out as well. 🙂 Although it’s nice to see another Glee-version of a song in your list! I can’t help it–sometimes they just sing a song, and then I like it better than the original, you know?

      • Very true! Actually, sometimes I’ll hear the Glee version before the original, leading me to prefer the Glee version, lol. That drives my Dad crazy — I’ll put on a song and he’ll listen to it for about 30 seconds and go “Hang on. This isn’t the original. Why aren’t you listening to the original?”

      • xDD I get that too. They just don’t understand!! Although that just happened with that song, Say Something? It was originally done by the guy and his group, apparently, but I’ve only ever heard the version with Christina Aguilera, so…. xD My sister told me that wasn’t even the original. (Although I guess since he helped make the second one, it’s ok? IDK.)

Leave a Reply

