Nanowrimo ’13 Update: Week 3

Hello darlings!  It’s been so long, but like I said, I was having FUN WEEK.  (See: Not really all that fun at all.)  The Christmas shopping has really begun in earnest now, as well as the holiday hours/schedule, which means more often than not I’m in Macys, explaining why coupons won’t work or helping people try to find some obscure item in clearance.  It’s good money–at least compared to normal–but hardly anything fascinating worth talking about on a blog.  (Well, and I don’t want to be one of THOSE blogs–that’s not the idea here.)

SO, long story short, I just haven’t been doing as well as I’d like!  You’ll notice from my Nano progress recorder on the right of the page that I spent more days not writing than writing this week, which was a shame.  Technically I’m not really terribly far behind–I’m working really hard to make sure that doesn’t happen–but any day I don’t have to write, I usually just slump off to bed, exhausted.

The story is… mm.  Well, it’s coming along anyway.  I think this will be one of those occasions where most of what I’m writing will get scrapped in the future editing phases–I like a lot of it, really, but I just don’t think it’s necessary to the story.  In the effort to get things on paper, so to speak, I didn’t bother narrowing down what was ABSOLUTELY ESSENTIAL and what was just fluff, so the book is a lot of fluff right now.  Oh well.  x)  At least there will be something to edit, right?  Right.

(And I’ll be honest–the one real day I DID get to write last week, the writing was hardly the spotlight–I was more excited about the full-length conversation I had with the cute barista guy that I’ve slowly been working up the familiarity to talk to for weeks at this coffee shop.  Now, he knows my name, what I usually drink, and that I’m writing a book.  Go me!)

Anyway, it’s probably only going to get worse, what with Thanksgiving/Black Friday looming ahead, but I’m still determined.  Tomorrow it’s back into the fray, trying to write enough to stay one step ahead.  (And ignoring that I have to wait till Monday night to watch The Day of the Doctor…)

How is everyone else going with Nano?  It’s late in the game, but not too late to add a couple thousand words and give it one last push!

Hopefully when we get into December I’ll have more interesting things to write about–actually, I’m sure I will.  Stick with me till then though, folks!  If you haven’t already, start reading my Life of Gaia series here, and, while we’re on the subject, go here to vote for what day I should update it!

Celeste

WHOOPS, and here’s an unrelated funny picture:

2 thoughts on “Nanowrimo ’13 Update: Week 3

  1. Hehehe googly eyes. Sorry to hear about your writing woes — have you sorted them out yet? You must win NaNoWriMo, for the sake of all us NaNo failures (read: me). My NaNo story isn’t going to hit 50k, not by a long shot, but I AM approaching 15k, so … much better than the 3k I boasted about a week or so ago. Woo! 🙂

    • Not quite, but I’m trying!! Stupid Black Friday in retail and Thanksgiving getting in the way, ha ha. But I managed some writing tonight, and the rest I guess I’ll just have to manage between tomorrow and the 30th! *Determined face*
      And hey, 15k is loads further than 3k, so good job! =D But I’ll still try to do you all proud. 🙂

Leave a Reply

