Bad Day

Everyone has one of these once in awhile, right?  And mine wasn’t even that terrible by a lot of standards.  Nobody died, I wasn’t injured.  It was just a regular’ol bad day, but not a spectacular one.  Still, I’m not used to bad days–as my life goes, most days are fair-to-middling, with some really great days thrown in.  I’m just that kind of person, I guess.  I actually used to consider myself a pessimist, and then it dawned on me that I’m actually really freakin’ optimistic.

But this was just a day that I couldn’t spin.

It started early, which I guess most bad days do.  My fault–I didn’t get enough sleep, after pulling a late-nighter watching Doctor Who with a friend.  Then I went to work and promptly got yelled at by a customer.  You might think that happens a lot, what with my job in retail and all, but actually this was the first time I got more than a grumpy reply or crankiness…  I’m talking pretty upset.  What was worse was that there was crying involved, and a huge guilt-tripping sob-story as well.

And, since it’s not like I was TRYING to ruin her day, I felt appropriately terrible about myself.

That pretty much set the stage for the rest of the day.  I had one of those grinding, pervasive headaches that sit in your skull, throb, and don’t go away–ever.  I also felt sick.  (I think I was dehydrated.)  Then, because of the woman I was working with, I spent most of my day putting away clothes instead of selling them, which is TECHNICALLY what I’m supposed to be doing.  It wouldn’t have been so bad if we hadn’t had pretty much the same amount of stuff to put away when I was done as when I’d started… four hours earlier.

Finally, work over, I got in the car looking forward to some plans I had made…. only to find out they’d fallen through last-minute.

That was pretty much the cap on it, and I resolved to go home, bury my head in my pillows, cry a little bit and then go to bed.  I’d had enough of that day.

But when I got home, after I’d calmed down a little bit and taken some aspirin, I felt a little better.  My mom gave me a hug.  My sister, who was actually home (this rarely happens,) agreed to sit down and watch a movie with me.  I ate a bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats with dried strawberry bits. (My favorite.)  And, gradually, my day didn’t feel quite so horrible anymore.  It felt… Okay.

I guess this story doesn’t really have a point, but I just wanted to get it off my chest, and I guess use it to say that things usually get better.  This could be applied to writing as well, of course.  I’ve had ‘Bad Days’ in my writing as well, where I wanted to throw in the towel, but… I keep writing, the story keeps happening, and suddenly it’s okay again.  Maybe not great, maybe not amazing.  But it’s not bad, and sometimes that’s enough to keep you going.

Bad days happen, but before you know it they could be OK days… or even decent ones.

Celeste

Oh Dory. So true.

2 thoughts on “Bad Day

  1. The nice thing about bad days is that they do end (sometimes with a hug and some Honey Bunches of Oats (with dried strawberry bits). You have those who love you and support you, most importantly there is a God who cares and loves to hear from you. Shalom

  2. At least your comfort food is good for you, lol. When I feel blah, I tend to go straight for the bacon cheeseburger. Sorry about your bad day 😦 But glad it got better! Hugs and yummy food make everything better.

Leave a Reply

