Small, Unexpected Treasures

DANG, IT IS HOT HERE. @_@

Well, anyway!  I’m freshly returned from Kent, where a friend and I went to spend a couple days with another friend who lives down there.  We had a great time!  We ate entirely too much junk food, wandered around shops in downtown, played video games and watched movies.  (I learned how to play Left 4 Dead.  The chainsaw was AWESOME.)  I’m not used to her living so far away (well, okay, an hour, but that’s still not 5 minutes away like before,) so it was nice to get to see her again, especially with the three of us together.  After work I was starting to feel kind of like a hermit, but I got a nice excuse to wear a cute dress and drink adult beverages, so woo!

Not much was accomplished, but don’t you just love that feeling when you can get away for a couple days and you don’t feel obligated to worry about ANYTHING?  (At least, nothing more complicated than where you’re going to eat or what you’re going to do next?)  I DO.  It’s awesome.  I haven’t laughed so much in awhile.  (My friends are weird.)  And while technically nothing came out of it, I feel refreshed and better able to keep soldiering along for awhile.  I have about a month for LoG, which I plan to dive into again, and there’s a family member getting married on the 27th, so that will be another mini-trip out of town. 🙂  Not to mention that next month my sister is turning 20, our town fair is going on, and the county fair happens!  I’m going to have things to look forward to for many days to come.

The Corn Festival. Yeah, kind of as creepy as it looks, but also; CARNIVAL FOOD.

So anyway, what I had in mind when I sat down to write this post was one of the antique stores my friends and I stopped at in a little town called Ravenna, near Kent.  The place was huge, with a basement and an attic; we only explored the first floor, and even that took awhile.  I’m always fascinated by antique stores–at least ones that are well-maintained and don’t trigger my asthma–because all of that old stuff has a story, you know?  I mean, it was made in a bygone era, and some of it was owned by people who aren’t even alive anymore–sometimes multiple people, sometimes passed along in families.  I’m a strong proponent that possessions hold memories, so standing in the middle of all of those things is so interesting to me.

They had a few baskets set around with old-old portraits taken, and I think those were what I found most intriguing.  All these people, looking so austere and dressed-up to have their picture taken (which was, of course, a Big Deal in those days,) looking like we do now but different.  Could they even have imagined that this was where their photos would end up?  These people, most of whom are very old or dead by now, their pictures sitting in an antique shop, perused by modern-day browsers like myself and sold for $2.00.  Wouldn’t that have just been the oddest thing?  Nowadays pictures are a dime a dozen–they sit in piles in my room, whole stacks of them we’ve gotten printed out at Walgreens, album upon album detailing our family vacations.  Perhaps they’ll be rare in the future when everyone’s photos are digital and on the internet, but not yet.

And yet there are these pictures, with all their pomp and circumstance; surrounded by distinctive grey-scale and set in fancy cardboard frames.  My imagination ran away with me, staring at those faces of real people who lived in generations before mine.  One young man’s face was particularly striking to me, even knowing that by now he has probably been dead for many years.  I wondered about his life, and whether any of the other items in the store belonged to him.  I wondered whether any of my pictures would mean anything to anyone after I’m gone.  Will their importance die with me?  Or will other people find them, and wonder about my life?

Probably not, but it’s always fun to imagine. 🙂

P.S. They made me think of the book Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Childrena book I read and enjoyed that was built around old photos that the writer had collected.  Isn’t that just interesting? 🙂  Someone looked at pictures, saw the story there like I did, and then wrote it.  So cool!

One thought on “Small, Unexpected Treasures

  1. That’s part of the reason why I write — I love the idea of people reading my books and thinking about me long after I’m gone. Dang, now I need to go watch Troy featuring the yummy Brad Pitt. He was all about leaving a legacy for future generations 😀

Leave a Reply

