Fight Scenes: A Pain in my Butt

(Typing this is going to be a slow, pain-in-the-butt process, as I have fake nails on for the wedding I’m in over the weekend.  I have NO IDEA how stereotypical secretaries manage. :I  By the way, I’ll be in Marquette for a wedding this weekend, so don’t expect another post until maybe Tuesday!)

So!  When I was doing my write-up of my day of writing (which was more like my post-midnight hour of writing,) I mentioned that I was going to do a post on fight scenes.  THIS IS THAT POST.  Look no further!

Now a lot of writers come into contact with fight scenes in one way or another.  Perhaps not literary writers, or those who deal more with character and inner battles, but even in those books sometimes physical scenes are necessary, and then here you are–facing the difficulty of giving your characters a satisfactory battle, in words, without slowing the pacing down or ruining the precious tension.

I might have said something about how I haven’t done much writing since I’ve been home from school, but the other day forced me to get my toes back in the water, so to speak, and I’ve actually written another 2k words since then.  You know, once the train gets moving, it picks up steam.  But I was pissed off at past-me, because she did something totally typical of her–she wrote until she hit the big battle at the end, and then decided to leave that to future-me.

Well, future-me is here and now, and I am not very happy.

It’s hard enough, getting back into writing when I’ve been out of the game for almost a month, but to have to start again with battle scenes??  YEESH.  Talk about pulling teeth!  I’ve never written a fight scene before, something I became brutally aware of as I was slogging my way through these.  I just don’t usually get that far, you know?  The occasional scuffle, maybe, or a slap, or something along those lines… but a full-out war?  Nope, no idea what I’m doing here.  I’m writing in the dark, so to speak, and it’s making my writing process all the harder because of it.

Now I realize I should chillax, since at this point the goal is simply to finish.  So WHAT if my fight scene stinks?  It all stinks, and it’s going to be revised anyway, so I might as well soldier through as best I can, illegible as it might be, and worry about it later.  But then there’s still that LATER to consider, and future-future-me who will be stuck, at one point or another, trying to write a fight scene that doesn’t stink up the whole book.

This is honestly what I feel like I’m writing. >:I

SO.  Any suggestions?  Books I should read on the subject?  Articles?  Podcasts?  Any of you writers who have already had to deal with the whole feint parry lunge business and feel you did it somewhat-successfully?  I’ll take any hints that I can get!  Because my Inner Editor, that horrid bitch, is giving me what-for as I attempt to get through this, and it’s really affecting my productivity. ;(  (Stupid Inner Editor.  I hate her.  She’s mean.)

Let your tips flow!  I am, quite figuratively, desperate!

~Celeste, who is not cut out for this.

3 thoughts on “Fight Scenes: A Pain in my Butt

  1. Okay, I have an idea, and it’s probably a terrible one. But hear me out! Ready? …

    Play DnD.

    No, wait, don’t leave! Here’s the reasoning — you need to figure out what’s happening in your scene, right? So, turn your characters into DnD characters, invite some friends over to play, and then just … play. Fight. Have a war. Fight hobgoblins. When you involve other people and give them free rein to do what they want, brilliance often emerges. Try it 😀

    • I would never walk out on your advice! xD Huh. I mean, it’s worth a shot, right? Could come up with some interesting stuff! And I have so many fight scenes in future books, it might be necessary for some help. x)

  2. Pingback: Get Writing… In a Notebook | The Official Site of Celeste DeWolfe

Leave a Reply

