What am I up to you ask?

Hullo everyone!

Just thought I’d do a little post about my job, my computer, and what I’m up to these days!  (At least now that I’ve worked at my job for a bit and can say anything about it, lol.)

I have to say, it’s nothing spectacular, but at least it is money coming in–which is good, because honestly I had about 52 cents to my name and a maxed-out credit card.  I’m working at the Macy’s in our local mall.  Sales associate, retail, you know.  At the moment I’m like Part-Time 5, which means most of my hours come from what I can pick up, but one of the managers asked me about working regular Part-Time, so I might actually get regular guaranteed Part-Time hours.  (16-20 a week.)  And since I have nothing else to do, working all the time is apparently my life now.  (I have 35 hours this week.)

This is very different for me, since even in previous summers when I worked at the ice cream stand I only worked maybe 16 hours a week.  Not to mention that my feet aren’t used to the standing around for hours on end, so most days I come home feeling kind of like a cripple and immediately submersing my feet in the footbath my dad got for Christmas last year.  (At least one of us should use it!)

I know, I know, lots of people work, and work at jobs that involve standing.  I’m sure I’ll get used to it, once my feet lose all sense of feeling.  That aside, it’s not a terrible job.  I help people find what they’re looking for, and then I ring them out, or process their returns, or whatever.  Most of them, and the people I’m working with, are pretty great.  So far I haven’t worked in the same department twice, so it’s been kind of exhausting, learning a new place every day.  Once my schedule gets settled, that shouldn’t be such a stresser.  (Plus I got a new wardrobe of black for work, so that was cool!)

AND, like I mentioned, I finally got my new computer!  It’s pretty swell, with lots of memory and things.  When our internet isn’t being super-slow on account of having 4 computers going at it at once, it’s a good gig!  Not to mention the guy who sold it to us at Best Buy was SO CUTE.  I wanted to take him home as well, lololol….  (No really.)

I don’t know much about computers, but it’s an HP, like an ENVY m6 or something?  IT HAS A FINGER SCANNER TO UNLOCK IT.  Which is just sooooo cool, I’m sorry.  I feel like I’m in the CIA or something every time I get on my computer. /nerd

On the story front, while I haven’t been writing, I haven’t completely abandoned it!  I think about it all the time, and I write down anything important.  Plus, I don’t know if I said anything, but one of my friends from Writer’s Club, Ahoye, offered to keep reading it and giving me comments even after graduation.  She’s working on an island giving lighthouse tours this summer, but when she gets computer access she reads the chapters I give her, so I’ve been keeping myself up-to-date with the story by editing it.  (Although soon she’s going to catch up to where I’m at, so I really do need to get cracking!)

I guess that’s all I’ve done–working a lot really takes all of the interesting things to talk about out of your life–but maybe I’ll come up with something for the next post.  Until then, all of you keep being beautiful.  Allon-sy!

Celeste

2 thoughts on “What am I up to you ask?

  1. Congrats on your job 🙂 I definitely know what you mean about the sore feet thing — I worked at a golf club as a waitress for two summers, and it was brutal on my feet. But yes, after a while you get used to it, definitely! Your feet will probably still hurt a bit by the end of the day, but what can you do? 😀

    Yay new computer! And lol at the cute Best Buy guy. I actually decided to purchase my Sony laptop based mostly on how cute the sales rep was — that turned out to be a major mistake, but here’s hoping your purchase won’t be!!!

    Also, yay for writing! I’m in a similar-ish stage — I go for long walks with my brother every day and we talk about books and stuff and ideas for stories … so although I’m not actually writing anything at the moment, it’s definitely still high priority in my mind!!!

    • Ah, yeah, waitress would be another hard on the feet. But yeah, I mean, like anything else, just gotta build up a tolerance. I think it’s getting better–I worked 4 hours today, and they didn’t hurt nearly as much as the first 4 hour shift I worked, so yay progress? xD (I also helped old ladies find bras, which was oddly rewarding.)

      Dude, he was SO cute. So far the laptop seems good too, so I’m hopeful. xD Sorry about yours though!

      Awww, I wish that my sister shared my enthusiasm about the written word. She doesn’t read much, and what she does read isn’t usually up my alley, and vice versa. (Although we had a nice time reading 50 Shades aloud to one another, lolol…) But I love walking and talking about plots and whatnot. That’s half the fun!! Plotting! (And having someone go, but what about THIS giant plot hole…?)

Leave a Reply

