Just a short shout-out before Portland!

Hey gang!

Sorry that I have been negligent on the posting front lately.  School has been absolutely kicking my butt–which is sad, since it’s only been a week since Spring Break, but there you go.  I’ve been trying to get a lot of things done before I go off to Portland, though, so I guess that’s as good an excuse as any.

So!  I just wanted to post SOMETHING before I leave, you know, and say hello.  When I get back from the conference in, like, a week, you can expect at least a post or two about my time in Portland, as well as a couple of posts that I’ve got planned.  Since there won’t be any more fun shenanigans between my return and graduation, we might be able to get back to my regularly scheduled programming!

As for things currently, everything is good. 🙂  The weather here is still kind of crappy, and they told us it might snow again tonight.  At this rate I’ll be lucky if we can even fly out of here on time.  (Fingers crossed!)

I read another chapter of LoG at the most recent Writers Club meeting, and it seemed to get a pretty good reaction.  I actually ended up talking about some stuff I had planned for the future, which was fun.  I have SO MANY IDEAS, and I get so excited about this project, so it’s usually a major bummer that I can’t talk to more people about it. 🙂  I haven’t done a lot of writing–I did some in a notebook during a couple of classes–but I figure once everything settles down I’ll have more time to work on that as well.

You may or may not have heard, but I’ve arranged to get my story developmentally edited by Taryn Albright, who is really good at that kind of thing.  She works in publishing as well as writing her own books.  That probably won’t be until June, when the MS will be finished and have already gone through a couple rounds of beta reading.  (SO EXCITED!)

Finally, I think I have decided to do at least a bit of querying before I commit myself 100% to the self-publishing field.  I’ve gotten a lot of suggestions for covers and whatnot, which was really helpful, but as Grace talked about in one of her posts about the Unicorn Conference, it’s better to query first and then self-publish, because it doesn’t work nearly as well the other way around, you know?

To that end I submitted a query letter for critique to Janet Reid, but I will talk about that more when next we meet.

All of you stay classy!  Portland, ahoy!

Celeste

(And because I’ve been watching this like crazy lately, here, have this fun interpretation of Caesar Flickerman before the Hunger Games!)

4 thoughts on “Just a short shout-out before Portland!

  1. Remember how last year we flew out of Marquette just in time, and discovered as we landed in Detroit that Northern had a snow day? I hope you have similar good luck this time around! We’re supposed to be getting snow in Maine, too, which is too bad because I’ve fallen back in love with running on those ice-and-slush free roads. Thanks for the shout-out, and I hope your trip is swell!

    • No problemo! Yeah, I feel like I wouldn’t like running anyway, let alone running in snow, but… You ran through some rain, so I’m sure you can manage? xD You’re obviously twice the person I am.
      And yeah! I’d forgotten that. I hope we do pull that off again. It’s not so bad getting back–couldn’t care less if we get stuck in Detroit or Portland–but I wanna get out there on time! It did the same crap it’s been doing for weeks today–was so warm it was puddles all day, and then once evening hit snowed like crazy. I’m like, MAKE UP YOUR MIND! D8<

      • Yeah, I am actually planning to go for a run today, despite the snow. And, not to be a running evangelist or anything, but the reason I like running is because I was never a person who thought it was something I could do. Every time I go for a run, I’m sort of like, “Wow, I did that? That was ME?” It’s always a surprise that it’s something I’m capable of, and that makes every run a huge boost to my confidence and self-esteem. I’m not a jock or anything, so every time I manage to do something like that, I feel like a superstar. What I’m saying is if I can do it, you probably could too!
        Maybe I’ll do a blog post about running sometime this week; it’s a topic I’ve been meaning to get to. Oh, and can I ask, what kind of thing are you reading at the Convention?

      • Do it! Write one! I would definitely read it, because that sounds nice. 🙂 I’m going to start dealing with that whole health thing this summer, so I guess we’ll see…? But your encouragement is always appreciated! xD
        I am reading a non-fiction piece this year, actually! Something I wrote about my sister and I. 🙂 Should be fun!

Leave a Reply

