Celeste’s Noveling Playlist 2013

I know people like to do this, so I thought I would also share mine, just in case it is of interest to anyone. 🙂  So without further ado, here it is:

Celeste’s Noveling Playlist of 2013

  1. Lights – Ellie Goulding
  2. You Make Me Feel – Cobra Starship
  3. Cough Syrup – Young the Giant (The GLEE version)
  4. Starts With One – Shiny Toy Guns
  5. Shake it Out – Florence + The Machine
  6. Some Nights – FUN (The GLEE version)
  7. Dog Days are Over – Florence + The Machine
  8. Titanium – David Guetta
  9. Oh Death – Jen Titus (Supernatural version)
  10. Decode – Paramore
  11. Animal – Neon Trees
  12. Breathe In – Frou Frou
  13. What the Water Gave Me – Florence + The Machine
  14. Extraordinary – Liz Phair
  15. Die Young – Ke$ha
  16. Never Let Me Go – Florence + The Machine
  17. Somebody That I Used to Know – Gotye
  18. Dark Side – Kelly Clarkson
  19. Heavy in Your Arms – Florence + The Machine
  20. Disturbia – Rhianna
  21. My Blood – Ellie Goulding

Now you might be tempted to ask, playlist of 2013?   How can you already know that this is the playlist you’ll use for the whole year?  And what the heck?  Other people tailor-make a playlist for the specific novel they’re working on!  YOU’RE A HUGE PHONY!  YOU’RE DOING IT WRONG!

Well, according to my friend you’re probably correct, but hear me out.  I’m not actually hugely into music.  It’s just never been my deal.  I don’t go out and find interesting new bands, or sit around arguing whether I ‘liked people before they were popular’.  (Which is dumb anyway.)  I’m the kind of person who listens to the radio in the car, or watches GLEE, and goes… “Man, that song was kind of cool.  I’d like to listen to that again.”

Then I look up the song, add it to my Youtube playlist, and listen to it.  Over.  And over.  And over.  Forever.  Sometimes I get tired of a song and kick it off the roster, but more often than not it just grows a bit whenever I hear something new I like.  I just set the whole thing to random-repeat, turn it down low enough to let me think, and then I get to writing.  I don’t tailor-make playlists for current projects, it’s true.  But I don’t have to, because the songs listed above give me enough juice and interest for anything I’m writing. 🙂

(And yes, you might have noticed that I am a particularly large Florence + the Machine fan.  When people ask what my favorite band is I usually just say her, because she takes up the largest proportion of music on my list.  Plus she’s an awesomely-crazy redhead.)

So what about you?  🙂  Do you have different playlists for different projects?  What do you like to listen to when you novel?  Or do you need complete silence to work on your manuscript?  Have you ever listened to something so much while doing something else that the song now reminds you of that thing?  (That actually happened to me once–I had like 3 or 4 songs from the first Kelly Clarkson CD on repeat on my CD player while I was reading Artemis Fowl, and now I can’t hear those songs without thinking of that series.)

Peace out homies! (I say as un-ironically as possible.)

Celeste

6 thoughts on “Celeste’s Noveling Playlist 2013

  1. I tend to roam randomly through music. For example, this morning I was listening to Celtic Woman, and now I am listening to Skrillex. I have very eclectic tastes that change at the drop of a hat. It’s really fun to be the DJ in a car or at a party, because people get really freaked out when you go from Ievan’s Polka to Bangarang.

    • Ha ha ha! I think it’s more fun that way. 🙂 Plus I mean, what if you’re stuck in a car or at a party with someone who likes country music only, and you HATE country music? Your chances of reprieve are very minimal. But if someone likes all kinds of music, you’ll probably just have to wait till that song is over for one you might like.

  2. Pingback: LoG Fun Stuff Post! | The Official Site of Celeste DeWolfe

  3. Pingback: Celeste’s Yearly Playlist, 2014 Version! | The Official Site of Celeste DeWolfe

Leave a Reply

