Roads Not Traveled

So since I was gone so long, I’ve been trying not to go TOO long without posting anything, but sometimes I’m just not sure what to write about, you know?

I always get kind of confused about this blog–I mean, technically it’s just attached to my website.  Should I focus more on writing?  On my writing in general?  If so, I wouldn’t have much to update about most of the time!  But then I’m not entirely sure how much of myself and my personal stuff I should be sharing…  Or how much anyone even cares!  It can get kind of confusing, as you see.

Anyway, the writing thing isn’t going much of anywhere at the moment.  My Nanowrimo has stalled out, and I should probably be working on that instead of updating this, but I mean…  Eh. xD  I thought I would throw a little something up here anyway, since inevitably I would find something else that needed doing besides writing.  In my defense I am rather busy of late, after my impromptu promotion and all, but I still waste much more time than I should, and that’s all on me.  One of these days I will have a perfect life that I can brag about, where everything is in perfect doses–cooking, cleaning, working out, work, family, friends, gardening…  I don’t know, I’ll be like the ideal person.  That time is not right now, unfortunately.

So I was just kind of thinking about my life.  I do that on occasion, but this was precipitated by a five-hour conversation I had with a friend from back home.  We hadn’t caught up in awhile, so she was getting me up to speed on all of the crazy and unbelievable things she has been up to, and I was occasionally inserting commentary and feeling that my life is rather sedate and sedentary in comparison.  I won’t go into details, but man… Her life is interesting.

Anyway, we got to talking about our jobs, our places in school atm, and inevitably our lives after school is over.  She doesn’t have to worry about that so much quite yet–she’s like, a fourth-year sophomore–but it is something that has been on my mind a lot lately, being about to finish up my second-to-last college semester.  It always sounds like more time is left than there really is.

I was just kind of thinking about all of the things I could be doing if I weren’t doing what I’m doing, you know?  Wow, that sounds complicated, doesn’t it?  Ha ha.  I mean, I love my major.  Reading has always been the only thing I’ve always known that I love to do, so my plans to become an editor are still good ones that I believe in.  The writing thing is newer, but I also enjoy that, believe it or not.  But like anyone else, I occasionally think of other things that I might be doing now if I WEREN’T doing this.

There was a time many moons ago when I seriously considered being an art major.  You may have seen my little doodle a couple posts ago, which was flawed, but I mean… That’s kind of what I do.  I have a Deviantart account, and I like to do pictures like that.  I’m even an Art & Design minor, so I guess that should say something.  I like to draw, and at the moment I’m in a painting class.  But I realized that I didn’t have the… the OOMPH to be an artist, you know?  I didn’t want to put myself out there, and I didn’t want to put the time in that it would have taken to be really good at art.  Still, I know a lot of people in the arts, including a friend I met online who is even now interning at Nickelodeon.  How cool is THAT?  It’s hard not to think, ‘I could be doing that too, maybe.’

Making decisions is hard, because you always think of the doors you closed by choosing the door you’ve chosen.  Not that I feel stuck, exactly…  If I had some kind of insane, early-life crisis and decided to start my education all over again, my family would probably support me. They wouldn’t be HAPPY about it, but I know they’d want me to do what makes me happy.  I’m very lucky in that way.  Not that I think I’ll wake up tomorrow and decide that English ISN’T the way I want to go… Sometimes you just have to think back.

Other examples of things I wanted to be at different points:

  • A zoo veterinarian.  I LOVE zoos, and I love zoo animals.  I always wanted to get a closer look at them, to get to play with animals you only ever see on like, animal planet.  Unfortunately I realized early on that science is NOT my forte, and I was probably best served on this side of the enclosures.
  • A mortician.  Yup, I thought about working with dead people for awhile…  Right up until we dissected pigs in my biology class, and I realized I didn’t want to open up dead things, let alone dead people.  (This also helped to nix the veterinarian idea.)
  • A makeup artist!  Several years ago I discovered that I really enjoyed doing makeup–on pretty much anyone who will sit still long enough.  Unfortunately again, this would have required sticking myself out there more than I’m really comfortable with, and self-promoting, but luckily I can still do my own makeup… It’s like art on your face. 🙂

What about you?  Did you ever consider doing something else?  Anything really crazy?  Lemme know! 🙂

Celeste

Leave a Reply

