End of Summer Update

Howdy everyone!

It’s been a week–yikes!  Time really does fly!

I was so busy with the packing and the cleaning and the un-packing and the re-packing and the hanging out with friends…  Well, I think you get the point.  A lot of various states of packing, washing things that went to Ireland with me and getting everything ready to head back up north with me to school.  This year will be my last in college, and I’m somewhere between completely pumped and spider-in-my-stomach nausea.  (And I just grossed myself out with that comparison.  Blech!)  It’s weird to be back, because in a lot of ways it feels like I never left–I have to keep looking at my own 50 billion pictures to remind myself that I did indeed spend 7 weeks in Ireland.  But unfortunately I can’t look back for long, because there are always things to look forward to.

Writing Update!

I actually finished my prologue!  I realize that actually doesn’t sound like a lot, but my prologue ended up being 8.2k words, so it’s actually a decent chunk…. for me anyway. x)  Plus I mean, come on–I finished my prologue!  That means I can start on Chapter 1!  I’m treading further into not-entirely-planned-out territory, but I can’t plan things completely from A-to-B anyway, because then I get bored–I’m a reader as well as a writer, and I enjoy some mystery in my books, even if I’m writing them!  I even read the prologue aloud to a friend, and it didn’t sound totally stupid, so I’m taking heart from that.  I’m utterly failing Camp Nanowrimo, but I’ll take the words I can get, and for someone who was abroad at the beginning of the month, I don’t feel quite so bad.

And, if anyone wondered, I actually wrote most of the prologue–a good 5k word chunk–both on my plane back home and at the Chicago airport!  On the plane was a matter of survival, because there was a screaming toddler three rows back egging me towards violence, so I crammed in my earbuds and wrote to relieve myself of the torture.  At the airport I had nothing else to do, and the words just kept coming until I had to re-board–well, and my battery died.  Just goes to show!

Reader Update!

I officially became an ambassador of Inkspell Publishing, a rather new publisher that I’ve been watching with some interest. 🙂  Check them out!  And as an ambassador, I’ll be doing things like book tour participation and cover reveals for their books, so stay tuned for all of that fun stuff!

As we as that, I also read what I pretty much consider my final book of the summer, Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner.  My mom bought it for me when I got back, and I pretty much devoured it in a few large gulps.  Such a refreshing book from what I normally read!  (And it’s not a bad thing to break out of your regular genres once in awhile!)  It tells the story of plus-sized Cannie Shapiro, whose ex-boyfriend begins writing about them in his magazine column ‘Good in Bed’, and begins a year that pretty much changes her whole life.  It was nice to read about a larger main character with such life to her, as Cannie has, as well as having the main character be 28–I feel like most of the books I’ve read recently have had such young main characters!  (A side-effect of YA I guess.)

What about you guys?  What have you read this summer you really enjoyed?

Well, I think that’s about it for me.

Don’t forget to check out my Giveaway  as well as enter for a chance to win a fun prize!  It might be another while before I can update again–I’m pretty much non-stop busy until I get back to Michigan for school.  At which point, I’m hoping, we can resume some of our previously-scheduled programming.

Good luck getting back into the fall routine everyone!

Cheers,

Celeste

 

Leave a Reply

