Tea Time

It’s Friday!

And who doesn’t love a good friday?

My week has had some ups and downs, but luckily everything seems to be back on the right track for the weekend, which is always good news. 🙂  This weekend, a couple friends and I are planning a bus tour from Dublin to the Cliffs of Moher, and eventually to Galway, where we’ll spend the night and take a ferry out to the Aran islands the next day.  I’m so excited!  I’ll let you know how that goes on Monday, however.

For now, I thought I’d just post something casual and fun on this most excellent friday–it’s not even raining here at the moment!–and that thing is tea.

The Irish are great tea-drinkers.  I’m not sure if they’re more or less into tea than the British, having never been to that country, but let’s just say, tea is a big thing here.  I drink at least five cups of it a day at work myself, and the kettle is always going to make more for somebody. 

Luckily I was a pretty big tea drinker before coming here anyway.  Not that you can’t get just about anything else you want to drink here, coffee included, tea just seems the preferred choice.  I’ve heard a few people say that they like to drink it much lighter over here–one of my roommates even has a theory that they put so much milk in because the water they put in is so hot.  I’m not sure about either assertion, though–my work companions tend to drink their tea incredibly dark and bitter.  I’m sure it’s just to taste, like back home.

I’m not sure when I started to like tea so much.  My sister used to drink it by the gallons, but I wasn’t nearly so found of it until probably around the start of college.  I’d gotten into a bad coffee-drinking habit then and was trying to find a way to stop that–coffee is expensive (especially at Starbucks!), bad for your teeth, and has way too many calories.  It wasn’t a habit I wanted to get into, especially for someone who didn’t even really like coffee–I still can’t drink the stuff unless it’s doctored up with enough milk, sugar and chocolate to choke a horse.

Tea was good for that.  Plus, it has so much water, it has to be healthy for you, right?  I have a gross collection of tea at home that I drag back and forth to college with me in a white garbage back–think Ramona Flowers from Scott Pilgrim.  And then I discovered Teavana, and I was well and truly screwed.

Teavana is a super-fancy tea store.  Well, at least upper-middle-class fancy–I doubt I could afford real upper-class anything.  They serve some really fun and exotic tea blends, almost all of which are, in my opinion, nothing less than delicious.  I tend to favor herbals, but I have some of almost everything at this point–and just bought a Teavana perfect tea-maker before leaving for Ireland.  </3  Haven’t even gotten to use it yet!

I’m not sure where I’m going with this exactly, but yeah.  If you haven’t heard of it and like tea, I fully recommend checking Teavana out.  They have a free app with several useful features, including a steeping-timer that plays very zen music and a program that will recommend tea blends. 

Some of my favorite blends are the ones they’ve offered recently–Youthberry and Orange Blossom, Samurai Chai and White Ayurvedic… And of course Blueberry Bliss and Pineapple Kona Pop for iced tea!  Don’t forget the german rock sugar, either–it really adds something you can’t get from regular sugar.  (In my humble opinion as a self-professed sugar addict.)  Teavana has tea for everyone, and all needs–White, Green, Black, Oolong, Herbal, Rooibos and Mate.  Each has its own properties for a healthful and tasty cup. 🙂

So!  As everyone moves to relax on this friday and prepare for the weekend, I hope you’ll indulge in a nice cup of tea–I’m sure I will be!  Pair that with a book and someplace cozy to put your feet up, and I think you have the makings of a great weekend to come.

Cheers all!

Celeste

Leave a Reply

